Certificates in Computer Forensics

You have several options when it comes to completing a computer forensics training program or boot camp program. Computer forensics certification training programs prepare you for a degree in computer forensics or Internet crimes and are typically much shorter in length than degree programs in this field. Certification can lead to the Certified Computer Forensics Examiner (CCFE) designation and you will need to find a training program that prepares you for the CCFE exam. Certification typically includes two examinations: a written exam and a hands-on portion. Being certified can improve your job prospects and prepare you for a rewarding career in this field.

Do You Need Computer Forensics Certification?

If you are interested in becoming a part of a criminal investigation team or working with companies to examine and recover digital evidence, the first step towards reaching your goal is to get your computer forensics certification. You will need to have a strong background in computer science or information technology to succeed in this career, as many classes required for different types of computer forensics certifications require you to manipulate different operating systems and learn how different programs and software applications actually work.

Types of Computer Forensics Certifications

All of the different computer forensics certificate programs require a significant amount of formal computer education training. You will learn how to use computer forensics software programs, learn about CSI protocol and also learn what a computer forensics team does on a regular basis.

Types of computer forensics certifications include:

Certified Computer Examiner Certification (CCE) - this is offered only by the International Forensics Computer Examiners (ISFCE) and is more focused on data management and recovery.

EnCE Certification - a computer forensic certification program that trains people how to use the EnCase computer forensics software programs.

Certified Forensic Computer Examiner (CFCE) - a certification program that is only offered by the International Association of Computer Investigative Specialists (IACIS).

The most well-known computer forensics certification program and designation is the Certified Computer Forensics Examiner (CCFE). This certification program covers several different areas including investigation protocol, computer forensics tools, recovery processes and legal questions and common issues. This particular certificate requires the completion of a three-hour written exam and a hands-on computer test. Candidates must have a score of 80% or higher on the exams in order to qualify for certification.

Courses in a Computer Forensics Certificate Program

Some of the key courses you will need to complete as part of your computer forensics certification training include:

  • Investigation Processes
  • Hard Disk Evidence Recovery and Integrity
  • File Systems Forensics
  • Law Ethics and Legal Issues
  • Evidence Analysis and Correlation
  • Network and Volatile Memory Forensics
  • Evidence Recovery of Window-Based Systems
  • Report Writing

Many computer forensics training programs can be completed entirely online and can prepare you for a degree or advanced training in the field. You will need to complete both college level training in computer forensics and a certification program in order to secure an attractive position in this field. Most employers only hire computer forensic specialists who have at least a bachelor's degree and at least one certificate in computer forensics.